Search

MC799633 – Microsoft Viva: A new feature to manage users in Viva Engage (View-only mode)

Outlook logo

check before: 2024-06-22

Product:

Microsoft 365 admin center, Microsoft 365 Apps, Microsoft Viva, Microsoft Viva Engage, Outlook, SharePoint, Teams

Platform:

Android, iOS, Mac, mobile, Web, Windows Desktop, World tenant

Status:

Rolling out

Change type:

Feature update, Admin impact

Links:

395690

Details:

Summary:
Starting July 2024, Viva Engage will introduce a view-only mode, allowing admins to limit users' abilities to create or edit content. Users in view-only mode can still access content and receive notifications. The feature is managed in the Engage admin center and recorded in M365 audit logs. No action is required from admins to enable this feature.

Details:
Starting in July 2024, customers will see a new setting in the Viva Engage admin center to place individual users on view-only mode. View-only mode removes a user’s edit and create privileges across your Engage tenant.
Network, Engage, and Global admins can add or remove a user from view-only mode. The feature is in the Engage admin center under the Governance and Compliance tab. All admin activity related to adding and removing users from view-only mode in captured in Engage audit events within M365 audit logs.
In view-only mode, users cannot create or edit any content in Engage, including new communities, posts, comments and replies, and reactions. Once in view-only mode, the user will see an information banner in all Engage surfaces (web/browser, Teams and Outlook apps, mobile apps, SharePoint).
Users retain access to all available content in the network and receive notifications and digests. Content from the user remains visible to others in the network.
A user’s view-only status is not shared with anyone else in the network, aside from admins. The feature does not send any notifications to the user; customers own all internal communication around the use of the feature.
Admins can put any user in their network on view-only mode, including guest users. View-only mode applies per user per network. Access to SharePoint sites and files in Engage is not affected by view-only mode.
This message is associated with Microsoft 365 Roadmap ID 395690.
[When will this happen]
General Availability: We will begin rolling out early July 2024 and expect to complete by late August 2024.

Change Category:
XXXXXXX ...

Scope:
XXXXXXX ...

Release Phase:
General Availability, Preview

Created:
2024-06-08

updated:
2024-06-08

the free basic plan is required to see all details. Sign up here


A cloudsocut.one plan is required to see all the changed details. If you are already a customer, choose login.
If you are new to cloudscout.one please choose a plan.


Last updated 6 days ago

Share to MS Teams

Login to your account

Welcome Back, We Missed You!