Search

MC795337 – Microsoft 365 Power Apps – Canvas App default tenant settings changing

Power Apps Icon

check before: 2024-06-06

Product:

Power Apps

Platform:

World tenant, Online

Status:

Change type:

Feature update, Updated message

Links:

Details:

Updated on June 21, 2024: We will not be able to fully roll out this change in June 2024. We have updated the rollout timeline below to reflect the change. We apologize for the delayed communication.

We are announcing that the tenant setting "disableShareWithEveryone" that was previously set to "off" by default, will now be set to "on" by default. This means that makers will not be able to share their canvas apps with the “Everyone” group without changing this setting. We’re doing this to align with Microsoft's recent security recommendations of being “Secure by Default”. Preventing sharing with this group aligns with this security posture due to the overexposure of data that comes with sharing an app with “Everyone” when it is not required.

Change Category:
XXXXXXX ...

Scope:
XXXXXXX ...

Release Phase:

Created:
2024-05-24

updated:
2024-06-22

the free basic plan is required to see all details. Sign up here


A cloudsocut.one plan is required to see all the changed details. If you are already a customer, choose login.
If you are new to cloudscout.one please choose a plan.


changes*

DatePropertyoldnew
2024-06-22MC MessagesWe are announcing that the tenant setting "disableShareWithEveryone" that was previously set to "off" by default, will now be set to "on" by default. This means that makers will not be able to share their canvas apps with the “Everyone” group without changing this setting. We’re doing this to align with Microsoft's recent security recommendations of being “Secure by Default”. Preventing sharing with this group aligns with this security posture due to the overexposure of data that comes with sharing an app with “Everyone” when it is not required.Updated on June 21, 2024: We will not be able to fully roll out this change in June 2024. We have updated the rollout timeline below to reflect the change. We apologize for the delayed communication.

We are announcing that the tenant setting "disableShareWithEveryone" that was previously set to "off" by default, will now be set to "on" by default. This means that makers will not be able to share their canvas apps with the “Everyone” group without changing this setting. We’re doing this to align with Microsoft's recent security recommendations of being “Secure by Default”. Preventing sharing with this group aligns with this security posture due to the overexposure of data that comes with sharing an app with “Everyone” when it is not required.
2024-06-22MC MessageTagNamesFeature updateUpdated message, Feature update
2024-06-22MC How AffectNo action is required on your part. We will start rolling out this change in the coming weeks.

Canvas apps that are currently shared with “Everyone” will not break or be affected by this default change. This setting will only prevent future attempts to share canvas apps with “Everyone”. It does not affect any connections that were made before the setting was turned on.
If you want to opt out of this default change, please reference the first link under “What do I need to prepare?” to turn the setting off.
We recommend that you un-share your canvas apps with the “Everyone” group. If you need to share with a large group of people, consider sharing with one or multiple security groups instead.
If you have explicitly set the tenant setting "disableShareWithEveryone" to $false (i.e. enabling sharing canvas apps with "Everyone"), changes made to your tenant will be delayed. We will communicate via a new Message center post when we can change it for you.

If you haven't explicitly set "disableShareWithEveryone" to $false, you can expect the change to take place by July 12, 2024.

No action is required on your part. We will start rolling out this change in the coming weeks.

Canvas apps that are currently shared with “Everyone” will not break or be affected by this default change. This setting will only prevent future attempts to share canvas apps with “Everyone”. It does not affect any connections that were made before the setting was turned on.
If you want to opt out of this default change, please reference the first link under “What do I need to prepare?” to turn the setting off.
We recommend that you un-share your canvas apps with the “Everyone” group. If you need to share with a large group of people, consider sharing with one or multiple security groups instead.
2024-06-22MC Last Updated05/23/2024 23:39:132024-06-21T18:54:08Z
2024-06-22MC End Time06/23/2024 23:35:292024-07-19T23:35:00Z

*starting April 2022

Last updated 3 weeks ago

Share to MS Teams

Login to your account

Welcome Back, We Missed You!