MC289965 – Records Management & Information Governance update on file deletion behavior when using a retention label in SPO (archived)

OneDrive for Business logo

check before: 2021-10-22

Product:

eDiscovery, Microsoft 365 suite, Microsoft Compliance center, OneDrive, Purview Records Management, SharePoint

Platform:

Online, Web, World tenant

Status:

Launched

Change type:

Admin impact, Feature update, Updated message, Updated message Feature update User impact Admin impact, User impact

Links:

82063

Details:

Updated December 21, 2021: We have updated the rollout timeline below. Thank you for your patience.
To improve consistency of user experience between OneDrive and SharePoint, the behavior of any retention label set to “retain items for a specific period” in SharePoint will change to allow users to “delete” the document which will then be preserved in the Preservation Hold Library until the specified period expires.

In response to your great feedback and provide more flexibility for different organizations, we have added the ability to configure this behavior for your tenant.

The default will be for this behavior to be “on”, allowing deletion as specified before. If this behavior is configured “off”, users are prevented from deleting these files and an error message is shown as has been the experience in SharePoint until now.
This message is associated with Microsoft 365 Roadmap ID 82063

[When this will happen:]

The rollout of this change will begin in early November and complete by the end of January (previously the end of December).

Change Category:
XXXXXXX ...

Scope:
XXXXXXX ...

Release Phase:
General Availability

Created:
2021-10-08

updated:
2021-12-22

the free basic plan is required to see all details. Sign up here


A cloudsocut.one plan is required to see all the changed details. If you are already a customer, choose login.
If you are new to cloudscout.one please choose a plan.


Last updated 4 months ago

Login to your account

Welcome Back, We Missed You!